Built in 1880, Souris East Lighthouse is a white and red square tapered wood constructed tower standing 14.3 meters above the cliff on Knight Point overlooking the town of Souris. Souris was incorporated in 1910 and the Souris East Lighthouse has always been the symbol of the town and area. In 1991, Frank McIntosh, the last lighthouse keeper on PEI, retired from the Souris East Light.

Tours to the Top
Discover the history and panoramic seascape views of the Harbour and Town of Souris. Visitors can climb the 45 steps to the lantern room, proceed to the outer platform to enjoy and photograph the panoramic view of Colville Bay, the fishing, pleasure and commercial boats docked at the port, the Northumberland Strait, the Town of Souris, the Isle de Madeleine ferry, and, on a clear day, the Cape Breton Highlands.

The lighthouse houses an interpretative center with a history of the Lighthouse and the Souris Port.

Jewels of the Sea
Learn about the history and formation of sea glass through interpretation and displays. The Lighthouse houses a large sea glass interpretative display about the history and formation of sea glass and the resulting “jewels of the sea”.

Souris by the Sea Treasures is a new gift shop located on the lighthouse property.

Contact information

Souris Historic Lighthouse
Email: sourismarina@shai.ca

Souris By The Sea Treasures Gift Shop
Carmella Cheverie, Proprietor
(902) 687-3301
134 Breakwater Street
Souris, PEI

GPS Position is North 46.34651 and West 62.24742

click to enlarge

Lighthouse Timeline

Lighthouse Timeline – click to enlarge

Historic photos of Souris Harbour

Historic photos of Souris Harbour – click to enlarge

Double-flashing Fresnel lens

Double-flashing Fresnel lens – click to enlarge